Okay, NOW it’s a real BB.

I’ve figured it all out. So my turn day is Saturday (that means the day I switch to a new week. I conveniently turn the same day as an actual week. Thanks for making it easy BB). So on Saturday, I turned 13 weeks. and today I’m 13 weeks and 5 days. So all the apps say that I’m 14 weeks because I’ve started the countdown of week 14. Like when it’s your birthday and you’re 22, but by 8 months you start saying you’re 23 because you’re about to be 23? So I’m 14 weeks. And it’s been a good week!

As far as pregnancy symptoms:
Extreme breathlessness: Just getting out of the car is like I ran a 10k (speaking of which, I hope it goes away because I’m running an 8k in November!). Getting into the office at work is a workout. This morning I walked from my desk, to my bosses office..it can’t be more than twenty feet and by the time I got there I had to grab onto the door to catch my breath! My three lb work bag, has become basically impossible to carry.

I have acne like a 16 year old and really dry hair. I honestly, didn’t wash my hair three days this week in a row and you couldn’t tell. I use dry shampoo on those days, but seriously zero oil buildup. I hope that lasts past pregnancy. Side note–if you aren’t on the dry shampoo band wagon, get with the program. This is my favorite!

We’ve been pretty busy around here keeping up with friends. I keep saying this baby has to adapt to our life, we aren’t adapting to it–because I’m naive and even though 8,000 moms have said that before me, it’s going to be different (please sense the sarcasm). So far this baby has gone dancing and running with me (two miles this morning!). I’m thinking it’s going to get used to rocking, swaying and I’m going to have a lot to do when it’s born to keep it in motion. Do you think ADD is genetic (I mean, duh, but like am I causing this baby to have ADD and be active because I’m so active?)?

We had our doctor’s appointment this week, which included a sonogram and a heartbeat listen! This was the first time Phil got to see BB Spice live and in action. As you can see, so far that’s a good looking baby! It’s measuring about 3 inches, and I think it’s pretty much the cutest three inches I’ve ever seen.

photo 1
No that is not an organ in the upper right hand side. It’s a foot.

I heard that sometimes during the N/T scan you can sometimes find out the sex, so I asked them to make sure they didn’t show us. The following conversation was priceless:

“We don’t want to find out”-Me
“Well, she doesn’t want to find out, but I do”-Phil
“Well, you’re not the patient are you?”-Sonogram Technician, who is now my best friend

Anyway, the Dr. said everything was great! All the reports have come back as normal and perfect as they should be, nothing off the radar. I’ve only gained half a pound which she said is totally normal. Phil and I think the scale is wrong because I definitely have gained more than half a pound in my boobs alone, but whatever, the scale is scientific.

I still don’t have a bump.  I’m basically pushing it out!

photo 2

How Far Along: 14 weeks.
Size of Baby: A Lemon.
Total Weight Gain: half a pound
Symptoms: Breathlessness and Dizziness
Eats: Normal food. I’m finding that I HATE chinese food with this pregnancy. It’s possibly the most disgusting sounding thing out there. Just thinking of it right now is making me sick.
Best moment of the week: Hearing the baby’s heart beat and seeing Phil’s face light up like a Christmas tree.
What I’m looking forward to: Phil has this weekend off, so I’m looking forward to finally hanging out with him.
Milestones: The baby is growing hair and has facial expressions.

2 thoughts on “Okay, NOW it’s a real BB.

    1. melissaraetaylor

      Thanks! Someone put it into great context for me this week. It’s like wanting to find the engagement ring, and then finding it and then it’s like oh. So now I have to wait three months to meet my baby? I’m good on waiting more! Good for you too!

Leave a Reply

