Behind the times update

23 weeks. Just two weeks ago I was all-times flying! and now, I feel like we are at a stand still. More than likely that’s because I have stopped/halted my insane schedule of traveling. This was the first weekend in three weeks that I didn’t have a single thing to do (except for this coming weekend when we head to Charleston, SC–not complaining about that trip!)

So I became a Pinterest Queen and did the following household fixer uppers.

photo 1 (4)

1. Arranged a bouquet of flowers that I got on sale from Kroger into a masterpiece.
2. After successfully cleaning my oven last week, I also successfully made the house smell like a bomb had gone off because WHO KNEW YOU WERE SUPPOSED TO OPEN WINDOWS? So this was my attempt to deodorize the house.
3. I thought that buying fresh herbs and drying them myself was so much cheaper–technically, it’s not. But I think it’s probably healthier for us? So in that route we win.
4. I took the extra fabric from our “closet”, and made curtain ties. This I actually didn’t follow a step by step..I just put two and two together on how to “make a hem”.

I also learned how to use a sewing machine today that I have no clue what I am doing with a sewing machine. Yia-Yia and Mammy, I think it’s time you took a trip to Richmond and taught me how to use this thing!

Hmm..what’s been going on with us: I am not sure if I talked about it in my last post but instead of seeing my Doctor every month, I belong to a study called “Centering Pregnancy“. It’s actually a nationwide program, that puts about 15-20 women together who are all due around the same time, to discuss  their pregnancies. I had my first class about a week ago, and it was incredibly interesting. I was also surprised to learn about the lack of knowledge some women have when it comes to having a baby. There is a girl in my group who is pregnant with her 4th child and she knows less about childbirth than those of us who have had zero babies. :/ Sooooo, it’s an interesting and entertaining group and I hope to gain a lot out of it.  hen you get pregnant, whether it’s your first, second, or fourth baby, I highly suggest looking into it. You get a lot more out of it than reading books and going to the Doctor on your own.Men are invited to come, but I HIGHLY doubt Phil will attend. I tried to get him to go to a child birth class with me last week and I think I may have bored him to death (because he’s already delivered sooooo many babies) so I really have to pick and choose what he should and should attend.

Phil sent out his application for residency fellowship on Saturday. The match program received it today and VERY soon we will start getting phone calls about interviews. So far all I know is of the 14 schools we could have gone to Salt Lake City and Nashville are out because we missed the deadline. Oh well. They would have been fun for a year, but it’s not the end of the world. So I think that leaves: Seattle, Chicago, Houston, Boston, NY, DC, Atlanta, 3 schools in Florida…and another one that I’m leaving off. Phil’s first choice is Gainesville or Seattle. Mine is Chicago. I would 100% take Seattle for a year, but I really want Chicago. I do not want Florida at all, because duh–Florida, it’s the worst state in the nation closely followed by Texas. But I have no say and have to politely keep my mouth shut.

So..for the more important stuff: Bebe T updates.

photo 2 (5)
People tell me I’m all belly…..okay sure, if you say so.

How Far Along: 23 weeks.
Size of Baby: Size of an eggplant (still). 11 inches long, and finally weighs a pound. Much more active, I can see it move across my stomach and do punches and jabs. There are times when I can feel its head and butt a lot. It really likes the right side of my body for some reason. Wonder if there is an old wives tale for that one?
Total Weight Gain: As of last Thursday, 15 lbs. Because I was of average weight/height prior to getting pregnant the healthy required weight gain is 25-30 lbs. I’m 15 lbs away and still have 17 weeks!
Symptoms: I have a phone call into the Doctor for something now. It’s really TMI, and unless you’re my mother or Phil I don’t want to talk about it. Everything is fine, but it’s one of those “Holy, EWWW, GROSS, WHY ME,” things.
Eats: Still dessert. Always dessert. Remember that scene in Clueless when Cher says “I feel like such a heiffer, I had two bowls of Special K, 3 pieces of turkey bacon, a handful of popcorn, 5 peanut butter M&M’s and like 3 pieces of licorice.” Well Cher, last Friday I had an ice cream drumstick, a piece of magic cake that my father in law found, and a caramel covered apple from Busch Gardens. In 4 hours. So. I win.
Best moment of the week: Finally relaxing. Not having to be anywhere on Thursday.
What I’m looking forward to: Seeing Holly on Friday!!!
Milestones: Baby can sense movement now. So all those runs and dancing will hopefully pay off! It’s ears are developed so it can hear the dogs bark–hopefully it will be totally used to that! He or she has begun rapid eye movement sleep–but seriously, what can a baby dream about right now? More amniotic fluid? The skin is gaining pigment (hopefully more than what I have) and hair is darkening. But hopefully I don’t have that scary baby I thought I was going to have here.

2 thoughts on “Behind the times update

Leave a Reply

