Peanut Allergies

I’ve convinced myself that if I eat enough peanuts during pregnancy my child will become immune to peanuts. Not sure if you know this, but peanut allergy is a scary–scary–scary thing! Over the past few years I’ve become very conscience of what is actually in our food and….

it’s disgusting.

Packaged and processed food really grosses me out. The capitalism of the food industry really bothers me. How can we make food cheaper? Oh. Chemicals. And fake things. And gross things. And –just note to self, never shop the aisles of the grocery store. Just shop the perimeters. And the organic aisle–(even that can be tricky). I went to a conference a few months ago and it was so eye opening. Why should food with four ingredients (most of which you can pronounce) cost more than the food with 27 ingredients (of which two you can pronounce, one probably being water)?  Then, the peanut allergy hit home when I watched this TedTalk (it’s long and it’s worth it). A startling  majority of things in our food, are actually banned in other (smarter) countries.

Anyway back to peanuts.

Early in my pregnancy, I read about a girl who had a peanut allergy and died–EVEN THOUGH SHE HAD HER EPI PEN! What a nightmare!

And then I realized peanuts are in everything that tastes good. Also, peanuts are in virtually everything. Hence, why you can’t bring homemade goods to kids classrooms anymore and there are peanut free zoned schools. Peanuts are deadly (to some) and we have to be more careful.

Did you know these facts about peanut allergies?

  • More than 3 million people in the US are allergic.
  • Rates of peanut allergies in children have tripled between 1997 and 2008 (Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology)
  • You can find peanuts anywhere: cereals, salad dressings, sauces, soup mixes, and cake icing to name a few. Here’s a list of more.

So as a non allergic, peanut butter loving, baby carrying mama–I have a small (teeny, tiny) fear that I’ll have a kid that has a peanut allergy. On the one hand, peanut allergies tend to run in families. So plus one for us (because we don’t have any). Also, while breastfeeding I can still eat peanuts.

The March of Dimes reports that in 2008 there was a 10-fold greater risk of a peanut allergy in children who did not eat peanuts in infancy or early childhood.

So what’s a pregnant lady to do? Well–I  found no information on the internet that I feel comfortable quoting that is in favor of eating peanuts during pregnancy. I mean, I found reports, but the studies were from the Daily Mail or WebMD, and if there’s anything Dr. Husband has taught me–it’s those are unreliable sources.

So I figure, if I continue to eat peanuts/peanut butter it will be introduced to my kids immune system sooner–and he/she won’t be allergic.

Makes sense right?

I encourage everyone to take a look and really learn what you are eating. It’s a really gross world out there.

 

4 thoughts on “Peanut Allergies

  1. Katie

    AMEN to food is gross!!! I’ve given up so much that I thought was healthy when indeed it was slowly killing me!! I love learning about food now and lean eating!!

    Also, I ate peanut butter with both babies and they are fine 🙂 there is your science! Haha

  2. I’m with you on how gross processed foods are. Just made some homemade hummus tonight to avoid all the chemicals int he grocery store crap.

    My nephew Mitch has a severe peanut allergy and it’s really scary for my sister. However, she does a great job teaching him to always read labels, ask for ingredients and tell people about his allergy.

  3. I eat peanut butter every day. I hope that stops my little peanut from developing a nut allergy but I guess we will not know until later! I am with you on processed foods and try not to buy anything but whole foods while I am grocery shopping!

Leave a Reply

