Now Reading

I mentioned in this post that I’m a sucker for  “You must read these books before you die” type of lists.

Well, wouldn’t you know that Buzzfeed came out with a 16 books to Read Before They are Movies list, and with a month and half left (at the time) until baby, I said why not! I’m up for the challenge.

Here’s the list, plus I’ve linked the title to the preview (if available),  in case you were interested.

1) Labor Day by Joyce Maynard-You’ve seen the preview, it has the always fabulous Kate Winslet in it. My library doesn’t have the book, and I highly doubt I’m getting to the movies to see this one in the next few weeks, so I’m tabling this one for now.
2) The Monuments Men by Robert M Edsel and Bret Witter. Boring. So, so, boring. I could not keep up with all the details. I bet it’s good for someone who can follow all those characters, but I could not.
3) Vampire Academy– Richelle Mead: I’ll be honest. This was really enjoyable for a quick dumb, teenage read. It’s 1,000 times better than the Twilight Saga. When I first read reviews it was Twilight meets Hogwarts. Which, is not true. It’s about Vampires and their protectors, at a school for Vampires, but it lacks the finesse and smarts that the Harry Potter series had. It’s still an enjoyable easy read for when you just want something dumb. This is my version of reality TV since I refuse to get sucked into that shit. At least reading dumb reads still expands my vocabulary, uses my imagination, and can help with grammar..or so I tell myself. It’s about a Vampire and her protector, and it’s part one of seven books. I’ve already downloaded the second book to my Kindle. I’m also convincing myself that I will be doing a lot of reading while breastfeeding. (Other moms, feel free to laugh at me for that).
4) Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin : I hate this book. I hate it a thousand times over. This was one of the worst books I have ever had the displeasure of reading. At no point during all of Helprin’s rambling could I begin to even tell you the point of this story. Helprin is a very vivid, picturesque writer–which is great when there is a plot that makes sense. I found myself constantly re reading parts of the book because I had no idea what was going on. I am intrigued to see how they will make a movie out of this because I truly cannot see anyone sitting through it. I have read others reviews, and I am saddened to have missed the point of the book–but it did not grab me as it grabbed other readers. It was 800 pages, and about 400 pages too long. If you read it and loved it, please convince me.
5) A Long Way Down– Nick Hornby: I’ll be honest, I just watched the preview and I can’t wait to get my hands on this book/eyes on this movie. I’m crying already. (hormones?)
6) DivergentVeronica Roth: Loved! But– I can’t bring myself to read the rest of the series.
7) The Fault in our Stars- John Green Someone hold me forever.
8)The Hundred-Foot Journey- Richard Morais
9) The Giver-Lois Lowry: I read this book in eighth grade and instantly fell in love. It is where my love with Dystopian novels started. Following The Giver I loved Brave New World, The Handmaid’s Tale, The Hunger Games, Logan’s Run, 1984, A Clockwork Orange, etc. These novels always make me realize that life is about choices, and you don’t have to conform, and there’s always more to know, more to do, more to rebel. They are obviously far fetched, but always, after reading them, I feel such a rush, a surge of power/energy, to fight the power. I just can’t help loving them.
10) Dark Places-Gillian Flynn: Gillian Flynn is good until you get to the last chapter, and then you hate her.
11) This is where I Leave You-Jonathan Tropper. I thought the movie was better. Neither were out of this world great. But, would spend an hour and a half watching the movie.
12) The Maze Runner-James Dashner: I’m on chapter 2. Its Dystopian. I already feel myself falling in love. It too is part of a 3 book series.
13) Gone Girl: Gillian Flynn: I actually read this book last year for my one time book club. I couldn’t put it down. It was soo good. And then I got to the ending. And I hated it. I HATED IT. The book was a page turner, so promising, so well written, so I don’t know. I was just enamored with this book. And then, THEN, I got to the last chapter and I was so disappointed. I’m hoping the movie changes the ending like they sometimes do. Also, I wish Bradley Cooper was playing the lead character. He seems like a MUCH better fit for the lead role. We’ll see Ben. We shall see.
14) Unbroken- Laura Hillenbrand: I finished this yesterday. and OHMYGOD. A) I am ashamed and how little I know about WW2. One week ago if you asked me about the Pacific side of the war, I would have said “They bombed Pearl Harbor; we dropped an A bomb; we won.” I had no idea about the POW’s in Japan, I had no idea about the fighting, sub scanning, rescues, I had no idea about the people who died just in training. I just had no clue. And B) What the book really did for me was humanized soldiers. And I don’t think I’ve ever done that. It really opened my eyes to why that was the great war, and the type of people American’s use to be. It was really amazing. I couldn’t put it down. I still can’ stop talking about it. It makes me sad that I wasn’t interested in this while my grandfather was alive because I would have loved to talk to him about his time in the Pacific and then his time in the Atlantic/Caribbean. This book is why I am excited for The Monument Men.  (Coincidentally is this is also the book I tried to read during our dress rehearsal, and I couldn’t concentrate).
15) Wild- Cheryl Strayed –
16) Serena-Ron Rash: All I know is it’s Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence. Which always equals Oscar gold to me.

3 thoughts on “Now Reading

  1. Stefanie

    Recently re-read The Giver (as in last week) for the 5th or so time. LOVE LOVE LOVE that book. Not sure how the movie will end up (how will they portray the lack of color, they’ve aged Jonas up to be about 16 and I’m not sure how that will work..etc) but I can’t wait for it.

    I’ve read a bunch of others on this list and the dystopian genre is totally my jam. I think you’d really love the Unwind series by Neil Shusterman. I have them all in Kindle format if you’re interested (I can email them). I’ve only read the first one and then a short story that takes place between the first and second so far but man is it good!

Leave a Reply

