New Year, New Things.

Ain’t no party like a post-op party, because a post-op party has percocet.

Or something like that.

I’m typing this as I am laid up in bed recovering from a minor surgery. Way to start 2015 off with a bang.

In the shortest of terms, I had an osteochondroma. I had a growth on my leg that I’ve had since at least 3rd grade. Last summer it tore my quad muscle and I opted out of surgery because I had a new job. Well, it turns out, it didn’t get better. So I signed up for surgery. It all happened so quickly because I had the day off, Phil had the day/weekend off, and those two things combined provided me with ample recovery time. As of today I can walk on it, but not for very long. So I’ll have to bring crutches to work with me, which is just going to be a SIGHT.

Anyway, in my drug induced life, I have been thinking about New Years Resolutions. For ten years it has been “do better with money”. And ahahahahhahaha, that hasn’t worked, so no.

So I came up with some that I think are far better.

  1. Acquire a taste for scotch. My husband loves scotch. I would like to be able to drink scotch with him. I tried to on NYE. I’m still working on acquiring the taste–hey, Rome wasn’t built in a day.
  2. Learn how to use my camera. My parents bought me a Nikon DSLR for Christmas in 2013. It intimidates the hell out of me. I’ve watched some courses, but I of course have forgotten them. If I’m gonna have a nice camera I’m going to need to use it.
  3. Learn Spanish. I have Rosetta Stone. I think an hour a night should be helpful? And not too time consuming. If anything I can at least skip over the number parts.
  4. Talk on the phone more. I’m on the fence with it. I use to talk on the phone for hours. And now I hate it. And I don’t know why. Mostly because I dont know if my life is that interesting to talk about and I dont want to just talk about things to talk about them. But I think so many relationship are failing because we don’t talk on the phone and it’s just all through text. Again, I’m on the fence with this one. Maybe it’s reach out to friends I haven’t talked to in a while and talk to them on the phone, maybe it’s just use the phone instead of texting so much. I will however be sticking to the golden rule of phone use..no phone calls before or after 9 am/9 pm.

That’s it. Four simple resolutions. All that are manageable.

What are your 2015 goals?

One thought on “New Year, New Things.

  1. Katie

    Let me know how that Rosetta Stone goes!! I need to learn Spanish so that I can communicate with my 3rd period!

    As far as my goals for 2015….
    1. Disconnect more & focus on my kids – more crafts, more adventures, more fun!
    2. Run 500 miles this year
    3. Enter in at least 1 race a month

    Cheyenne said she wants to run a 10 minute mile and enter fun runs….😍

Leave a Reply

