I’m baaaaaack.

Hello? Is this thing on? Mic check 1, 2, 3?

Life got a little crazy there for a while. The following happened:

  • I had a baby turn into a toddler.
  • 2015-05-15 11.08.15We were moving to Florida, but I couldn’t tell anyone we were moving to Florida, and all I wanted to do was talk about moving to Florida, and I couldn’t write about it on here because employers SEARCH FOR THAT STUFF.
  • I planned an out of state move. Alone. By myself. I have a partner/husband, but he was not able to do this in his free time. (I also did this move myself, with a baby, and two dogs, and lived without him for a month, although my lovely family stepped up and saved me!)

2015-05-22 11.22.27

  • Sold a house.

2015-04-06 17.37.31

Prior to the move, I had a job that was “meh” at best. I mean, I literally read a Kindle book online for 80% of the week. So, all that free time meant moving was a breeze.

Moving Tips:

a) Wine.

b) More Wine.

c) Do things in spurts. I had known about the move since April 2014 , so starting in March 2015, I purged, purged some more, and purged some more. I made $400 selling CRAP (broken lawnmowers, broken dressers, gym equipment, TI-83 calculators, etc.) on Craiglists and Facebook groups. I gave myself a rule. Pack three boxes a day. After I packed three boxes, I was done. I didn’t have to do anything else.


2015-03-22 17.40.24

d) Research. There are a million ways to move out there. Everyone one of them is expensive. But when you need things done on your time, may I suggest Uship.com ? Guess how much it was to move my house? IDK, $3,000? INTERSTATE MOVE. Available on the day I wanted picked up and the day I wanted delivered. I also found someone on Uship to move my dogs because I was NOT stopping on the interstate with a baby, and two dogs, and a car crammed with more crap.

Side tip–stop buying crap.

e) Drink More wine.

2015-06-17 19.30.53

Present Day Life: I started a new job. A new job that I love. I research all day long! I play with statistics. I prove points! Social Science!

Phil is studying for his boards, Anna continues to be a genius (a genius who eats crayons and throws the dog’s food in their water bowl, okay so I use the term loosely).

Things that Anna can do:

1) Count:
Me: One..
Anna: Twooooo
Me: Three
Anna: Six!
Me: Four
Anna: Six!
Me: Five
Anna: Nine!
Me: Six
Anna: Nine!
Me: Seven
Anna: Nine! Nine! Nine!

She knows all her animals. Birds tweet, cows moo, lions and tigers roar, Kitties meow, Dogs woof, Chicken’s cluck cluck, Horses neigh and eat carrots.  Etc, etc. Name an animal she can do it.

She is still working on her engineering skills…2015-06-29 17.48.50

Everything is red or green. We are working on colors.

She knows please, thank you, and welcome. She doesn’t quite know when to use them. Sometimes when asking for nilk [sic] she says “welcome! welcome! welcome!”10006086_910929278953945_8774212501553868697_o

Also speaking of “nilk”, she has a huge crush on her Uncle Nick. She talks about him once a week and gets super shy around him if we facetime. Whatever, babies are adorable.

She’s has two books memorized. She can tell you what Olaf likes (hugs). And she loves Elsa. I’ve tried to introduce new Disney movies, but they haven’t quite hooked her yet.

She doesn’t watch much TV, but on the days that we need a breather, she loves Daniel Tiger, Sesame Street, and MICKEY!!!

She starts swimming lessons on Monday.

Until then, look at this adorable crab.2015-06-03 19.03.29

Leave a Reply

