Caffeine for the Pregnant Ladies

Any coffee drinkers?FullSizeRender (7)

Hello and welcome to coffee and your pregnancy.

It took me 32 years to acquire a taste for coffee. It took me another year to require coffee daily, and as I near 34 in the next few weeks, I wonder–will I be able to survive the next pregnancy?

The answer is yes, because I drink coffee like an 8 year old. All milk and I only drink half of the cup. And also because, breaking news, you don’t have to cut out coffee. It has been well studied that too much caffeine can lead to miscarriages and other problems, but also, just be smart. Drink your one cup a day and you will be fine.

Have fun! Pregnancy is great isn’t it?

However, I did find this article, the Pregnant Woman’s Guide to Starbucks, and thought some of you coffee drinkers might enjoy it.

Highlights include:

  • Opt for a decaf Pike Place in a Venti-only 30 mg of caffeine! (That’s a joke, right?)
  • If you do order regular coffee, only order the short. That’s your 8 oz maximum. (I actually order a short in a tall cup because I need ALL OF THE MILK with my coffee and it does the job quite well).
  • Are you a latte, cappuccino, macchiato, or a flat white drinker? You are in luck! You can have short, tall, grande, and tall and still come in under the 200 mg limit!

How have you been handling lack of caffeine? I hope well! It’s not the end of the world. And in a few months you get a baby–silver lining?

Leave a Reply

