Half Way Point!

I thought we were never going to make it this far. Via, why does the first trimester take FOREVER. I mean really. Could you imagine being an elephant? A gestational length of 18-22 months. Oy vey. NO THANK YOU.

So, technically speaking, I’m 50% done. If we go by Anna’s decision to come early I am 54% of the way there. Either way, I have done zero things for this baby. I thought about buying the bassinet last night because Toys R’ Us was having a sale, and then decided not to because we still have 20 weeks. We are also moving out of our house 6 weeks post-baby so part of me is feeling like I SHOULD start packing/purging but the other part of me thinks the couch sounds so much better.

Just like last time, round ligament pain hit at exactly 20 weeks. To the point that I skipped a work dinner on Monday night because I thought I was having Braxton Hicks or something crazy. It wasn’t until I did a Google search, did a time check, and realized oh yeah, uterus is stretching. I actually forgot how intense round ligament pain can be. Does this bode well for labor?

I have yet to start exercising again because it’s cold (for Florida, it’s cold). I suspect I’ll have to wear my belt if I do ever attempt to get out of the bed and run instead of lay there snuggling my dog forever.

To be honest? Even though last week I was all “I love being pregnant”, today has really reached a climax. I am uncomfortable AF. This morning it was 29 degrees, now it’s 70. The sweater I am wearing is itching me like crazy, tights are too tight, shoes are too tight. Judging by the 10 day forecast it looks like we are going back to normal Florida temperatures soon–and it IS NOT SOON ENOUGH. At one point today, I contemplated shutting my office door and taking off this sweater to work in a tank top. My shoes have already been removed. Would it be frowned upon to walk the office halls with no shoes on? How many more hours until I can leave?

IMG_1742

How Far Along: 20 weeks
Size of Baby: Paper airplane/Endive
Total Weight Gain: 10lbs. All that walking last week kept me pretty on track.
Movement: Much more present than before. Phil could definitely feel it if he put his hand on my belly.
Status of my Belly: It was hard to put on socks this morning. Thank god this is not a winter baby.
Doctor’s Appointments: Not for a while. We had the anatomy ultrasound on Friday, everything looks great. Normally a sonogram shows the baby laying on it’s back, looking up. This baby was laying on top of the placenta with its arms under its head, looking similar to a child I already own. This one was not so cooperative and was not happy that we kept prodding it to move. It looked like it was sucking its thumb, so yeah! for self-soothing. I will have to go back for another ultrasound around 32 weeks because it does look like I’m borderline for placenta previa, but hopefully that thing will move into it’s proper spot (up top) by then. At least we get to have one more peek at the baby!

Seriously, does anyone have lighter fluid? I’m about to burn this sweater to the ground.

Leave a Reply

